Holy Mother of Chocolate Pie

Image

Fun fact: The Four’N Twenty pie was created by LT McClure in 1947. Between then and now, the production of Four’N Twenties has grown from 50 pies per day to 50,000 pies per hour. 

I can appreciate a good $4 Four’N Twenty when I’m in desperate need of some pre-packaged, mass-produced goodness. But if you want a pie that puts fire in your belly and hairs on your chest, get out of the 7/11 and head for The Pie Tin in Newtown. 

Don’t expect to find a table at The Pie Tin – it’s often packed with people salivating on themselves, gazing at the baked goods on the counter. Embracing this stupidly hot winter we’re having, my pie buddies and I ditched the dining tables and had a sunny pie picnic in Sydney Park. 

Image

The range of pies available is un-freaking-believable. Their savoury pies range from old school steak and kidney, to sweet roasted duck and seasonal vegetables. I felt like the fat kid from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory when I laid eyes on their sweet variety, with peanut butter choc tart and blackforest meringue pie coming in as top sellers. God help me if they ever buy a chocolate fountain. If all this leaves you in a state of puzzlement and an increasingly sweaty brow, look no further than a slice of ‘the pie that ate Newtown’ accompanied with a bottle of ‘dirty granny’ cidar. You want pie? You got your gosh darn pie: 
Image

From the savouries, my favourite was the slow roasted shredded pork with apple and bbq sauce. Think Sunday roast happiness mushed together in a cinnamon dusted pastry. The classic mince pie was like the gourmet godfather of the staple pie you get from the servo at 2.00am. I also had a go at the spicy Nepalese lamb curry pie and the korma pie which, in my opinion, should be left on a papadam rather than a pie base but hey, my curry loving friends seemed to be content.

Lastly, there was the mothership of dessert pies. The Oreo Cookie Pie. If Jesus ate pie, this would be it. An oreo biscuit base filled with cookies & cream, studded with chunks of oreo and flecks of cocao.

They say pure happiness is unachievable, but I think I just got pretty damn close.

The Pie Tin

Address: 1 Brown St, Newtown

Love it for: Did I mention they do mushy peas and sweet potato chips?

Price range: Pie prices range from $5.80 to $10.50. They also do 2 for 1 pies in the last 15 minutes before closing every day!

*Special thankyou to the beautiful Millie Long for the photos*

The Pie Tin on Urbanspoon

 

One thought on “Holy Mother of Chocolate Pie

  1. Pingback: Holy Mother of Chocolate Pie | Bring Your Own Beer

Leave a comment